Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Where is the love?

Although this question has been trailing about in my mind for a few years, I never thought to question it aloud. I found myself lurking Youtube, again, and watched a video where this one individual was asking certain questions about the jrock fandom. Particularly, very good questions that definitely provoke further thought. One of the questions happened to be, "Where has all the love gone in the fandom?"

This is a brilliant question, because those who have been around long enough highly sympathize with it, whereas those newer folks in the fandom can imagine that there have been better times than now.

The past used to be a lot friendlier than what it is now. Then again, back then it wasn't as easy to find jrock fans roaming the world wide web or in real life. I remember attending my first convention at a pretty young age, and the community then is definitely not the same as where it is now. It definitely has pros and cons to every issue:




Cliques:

We are a much bigger community than we've ever been before, so its natural for social groups to arise. Granted, it's different everywhere you go. I know that I can not speak the same for the East coast as easily as I can for the West coast. For the west coast, or rather, the LA scene...a lot of people know each other, whether it be thanks to myspace or because we all see each other at local shows or actual concerts. In a way, it's both a good and bad thing; we're a close-knit scene but it proves to be harmful sometimes. It proves to ruin the privacy and trust you had with friends, and it's even worse if you're a part of the industry. Overall, the LA scene is one that most people would enjoy, because it's easier to make friends....just make sure to keep the drama out of it.




Industry:

As some of us are able to recall, there were never any overseas jrock organizations in the past. It wasn't until Jpophouse and JaME came into the scene and provided a lot for the US and Europe. Jpophouse made us all happy in the US by bringing bands and selling their goods online, while JaME brought exclusive news to European audiences. Nowadays, there are more and more companies and groups popping out of nowhere, particularly in the US. (history lesson ftw!)



Fashion:


Lot's of pros and cons here. It's definitely made it a lot easier to spot a jrock fan from an anime otaku. It's become a lot easier to purchase everything, including visual kei/lolita clothing/jrock CDs. No one ever said that any of this stuff came cheap. Yes, it's our worst fear, everything that we could ever want is at our fingertips, but at such a hefty price! I see so many people struggling to make a normal living due to how much of their finances go to jrock paraphernalia or clothing. It also doesn't help with the current state that our economy is in, but the dedication we retain has ultimately turned into a compulsive addiction. Also, attending a jrock concert in LA is like coming to a fashion show: because of the easy-access to clothing now, it's become a competition as to who dresses the coolest in Vk or lolita. That obviously does not apply to everyone that attends, but the general consensus by just looking at the crowd gives enough evidence to believe that.



Looking at how most fans interact on the internet now, most people would look at this and go, "BAAAW". Blech, I'll never understand how the evolution of jrock fans over the internet started out as nice and few in number, and currently bitchy and callous.

Oh wait. I do know why fans are like this now! *rolls eyes* Just because you've run into a couple of dim-witted fans, doesn't give you the right to treat everyone like they deserve none of your respect. It has come to pass that most of the wank people start these days are becoming rather tasteless. And most fans choose not to become fans of particular bands because of said band's fandom, which is kind of understandable, but in all seriousness: you don't need to associate with them, nor be forced to interact with fans that drive you up the wall. I consider myself an individual with the bands I support, even before I became a part of the industry. It may have a lot to do with the fact that I do not interact with many fandoms, but to each his own; people come from different walks of life and probably depend on such interaction. (Again, this brings back comparisons to the East and West Coast scenes)




This fandom has seen better days....

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Humanity: Japan vs. the World (i.e. America)

This is something I've noticed for a long time, but haven't spoken openly about, until now.

It seems to me that no matter where you go, you'll find the same old phrase, "Oh those Japanese."

I'll never begin to understand what that means. I could care less if it came out as respectable as possible, it still sounds incredibly rude and ignorant.

Why is it that the Japanese are treated as a completely different entity? We're used to seeing diversity in the world today--yet for whatever reason--there's always some sort of segregation to Japanese people.

I realize that language barrier and differences in culture are major factors in why it may seem difficult in understanding just who these people are, and how they live, however this does not mean that people can treat them like aliens. What I mean by that is concerning people's reactions to Japanese people, Japanese culture, and everything else.

Examples can go so far as the laughter most Americans get with Japanese inventions, to the everyday rituals Japanese people participate in, which clearly tells me that Americans are rather awkward people, or they just need to do more research. It's like watching a very serious scene in a play, where the protagonist is ready to vanquish the antagonist, but once the hero takes his sword and stabs his nemesis, people start laughing. It's things like this that really tell us how Americans really are.

We know that the general consensus respect Japanese people, however, the individuals that are not aware of the pop culture, such as anime, music, and general lifestyles, believe that Japan is still living in the 1700s. I've seen great loads of evidence pertaining to the fact that most of the people that are under this impression are full-grown adults that are still living in the 40s - 60s within their own country and society.

This isn't to say that the people highly aware of the pop culture are fully aware of Japan entirely, because there's always a Yin to the Yang. Those living and breathing everything with the Japanese pop culture movement unfortunately may be too fixated upon it and begin to believe that the pop culture fully encompasses what Japan is about. Such as, the belief that X anime series is loved and known by all in Japan, or that Y indies visual kei band are so incredibly popular with Japanese youths.

I think you all get what I'm trying to say, meaningless rants lead to endless explanations. Therefore, I ask you all to please do this: GROW UP.

....Would you believe that all of this sparked because of a simple Youtube comment?

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Concert Etiquette! Lesson 1

I've noticed that concert etiquette is taken lightly when it really shouldn't be.

1. If someone pushes you, don't push back. This doesn't concern those that like to start thrash groups and mosh, but it is for those who are just being downright rude and are pushing so that they can be in the very front.

2. If you're the only one not rocking out to the music by just standing there, at least clap at the end of the song. Show some respect, I'm most certain that anyone would like to be given the same amount of respect, at the very least.

3. When one of the members are talking between sets, BE QUIET. I cannot stress this one enough. I find it most rude that people are going to talk over someone, when all the speaker wants to do is talk to their audience. That's leaning towards the direction that you have no interest in what they have to say, which means that you are not showing respect, yet again.

Why is there such a lack of respect? I feel that by doing all those things that are disrespecting an artist, you are disrespecting yourself in a much higher magnitude. I realize that there's the concert hype, and the excitement of seeing your favorte artist, or even seeing an artist for the first time. However, since there has actually been incidents where people have gotten seriously injured, I think it's important to adhere to some warning.

I might post another installment of this if there's anything I might have missed.

Sunday, April 13, 2008

uh huh.

DISCLAIMER: I am in no way representing all anime fans, or generalizing each and every single one of them. I am merely stating my own opinion, therefore there are no complete facts here.

You know, I actually think it's kinda sad that you can easily spot an 'otaku' in a crowd. Yes, an 'otaku'--the term Americans use for hardcore anime fans, but a term the Japanese use for the socially inept. A lot of those 'otaku' don't even know what it all means, but obviously none of them ever cared to find out, because the American market obviously knows what they're doing, right?

The Japanese have always had this term in their vocabulary, but it's applied towards anime fans because Japanese otaku are exactly what the definition says they are: socially inept, weird, and obsessed. Now don't fully quote me on this as I have not done extensive research on it. I do know that we can all identify the clearly avid manga readers and pocky consumers by a long shot for the following reasons:

1. Their dress - Have you noticed that a lot of them lack fashion sense? If anything, it has a lot to do with the fact that Hot Topic sells clothing with anime logos on them. Because Hot Topic is a major distributor in anime goods, I suppose it gives the anime consumer convenience to buy their clothing there as well. And also because many of them are already comfortable with the way they look, which is perfectly fine. Go ahead and wear your ridiculously loose jeans and your beanie/cat ears/cat-eared beanie, but don't say the fashion police didn't warn you.

2. Their demeanor - Everyone knows that when in company of anime fans, make sure to bring some ear plugs. We all know a good lot of them are incredibly loud, and rather eccentric, but only when they are talking about anime. For whatever reason, the remainder of the time they are not with their anime-posse, they are so quiet that it makes them look anti-social, creepy, or just flat-out shy. Come to think of it, a lot of them are very shy, but for whatever reason when seen at anime conventions or just with groups of people that are just like them, it's as if they were never their previous, shy self. It's not all that understandable if you feel, 'no one understands you', because that is just an excuse meaning that you have nothing better to talk about with people other than the latest anime fix.

3. Messenger bags - They all have one! Why?! Why is it that they all have the Naruto or Full Metal Alchemist Messenger bags?! Let's not forget how the messenger bag is immersed with pins, keychains, or stuffed with enough anime plushies that make up the entire cast of anime characters from whatever series.

4. Language - Because anime is from Japan, we know to expect some Japanese language to be adapted into American otaku culture. I've most prominently seen people call each other by their names and then add the "-chan" suffix to it. Now anyone taking Japanese language courses, or is from Japan and is fully aware of the language structure, would know that is seriously the silliest thing a person would do. Why? because even though they may be using it on their friends, they aren't pronouncing it right! The "-chan" is not the same pronounciation as how Americans say Jackie Chan, it's not, okay? Other things I noticed people like to say depend on the fandom: with Fruits Basket, "baka neko" is an avidly used term. If it's Naruto, "dattebayo" or whatever, and lastly with Fushigi Yuugi, adding "no da" at the end of each of their sentences seems to be what people enjoy doing. [Ironically enough, in the jrock fandom, "-sama" and "kawaii" are the most popular terms in usage]. I suppose learning a thing or two from a different language just by watching something with English subtitles really gives them a better reason to use it in everyday English.

Okay, so those were just the main things that I wanted to list out. I feel like I've basically brushed up on everything though. All of this does not only apply to the anime fandom though! Before Japanese brands came into question in the jrock scene, a lot of them looked like otaku....because some of them used to be otaku. I think in general j-fandoms are special in their own ways; we have different types of people that can be generalized in certain social groups.

Don't get me wrong though, I'm not here to bash any anime fanatics out there, seeing as I continue to have some interest in it 10 years later. I'll probably dissect other fandoms in the future as well, but I think I want to continue on this one in the near future.

Friday, April 11, 2008

Just trying this out!

Okayy, so this is my first time actually having a blog...
And while I still can't seem to differentiate between a blog and a journal, I'm going to just go with the flow on this one.

I'm probably not going to write that much, but we'll see how things progress~ xD

So for now, I'll just talk a little about yesterday: The taste of chaos show in Long Beach. ...I don't really have much to reflect on, other than the generic, "The bands were great! And I'm sooo incredibly sore from rocking out!" I'm still tired from it. I actually don't even want to think about it xD; even though I still have to deal with it until next Tuesday. *facepalm* I'm also pretty bummed that I didn't take ANY pictures, not even with my friends that I saw there~ What the heck was wrong with me that night?? xD

...Now if only that person would come online so I can talk to her about working tomorrow's show...-___-